Live Peritoneal Dialysis Webinars

Live webinars

Register for a live webinar to learn more about the clinical aspects of Peritoneal Dialysis

Upcoming webinars

Wernsing 2022

Dr. David Wernsing will be presenting PD Catheters and Placement Techniques on Wednesday, May 11, 2022

Date: Wednesday, May 11, 2022

Time: 9:00 AM PT | 10:00 AM MT | 11:00 AM CT | 12:00 PM ET

Successful peritoneal dialysis therapy depends upon the presence of a functional and durable long-term access to the peritoneal cavity. Current PD catheters can be found in a range of materials, configurations, lengths and are placed by a variety of procedures. This presentation will review PD catheters and best demonstrated placement techniques.

Crabtree

Dr. John H. Crabtree will be presenting Managing PD Catheter Complications (2 Part Series) Part 2: Exit-site/Tunnel Infections, Relapsing Peritonitis and Acute Abdominal Emergencies on Wednesday, May 18, 2022

Date: Wednesday, May 18, 2022

Time: 10:00 AM PT | 11:00 AM MT | 12:00 PM CT | 1:00 PM ET

Infectious complications are the most common cause of catheter loss resulting in the patient transferring to hemodialysis. This second part of the series on Managing PD Catheter Complications focuses on exit-site/tunnel infections, relapsing peritonitis and acute abdominal emergencies. The presentation includes an interactive digital algorithm, surgical management/treatment options and case study reviews to enhance learning and retention of material.

Rothstein

Dr. Marcos Rothstein will be presenting Bring your PD Questions and Case studies to the PD Discussion on Peritoneal Membrane Physiology and Prescription Management on Tuesday, June 7, 2022 and Wednesday, June 8, 2022

Date: Tuesday, June 7, 2022

Time: 12:00 PM PT | 1:00 PM MT | 2:00 PM CT | 3:00 PM ET

and 

Date: Wednesday, June 8, 2022

Time: 9:30 AM PT | 10:30 AM MT | 11:30 AM CT | 12:30 PM ET

Prescribing chronic PD therapy is part science and part art. The science of the prescription is in the understanding of the patient’s membrane transport status, ultrafiltration and adequacy requirements, and residual kidney function. The art of a PD prescription is in designing a regimen that supports long-term therapy maintenance. This presentation will review salient concepts to achieving an appropriate prescription and ensure long-term success on PD.

Saxena

Dr. Anjali Bhatt Saxena will be presenting PD Retention Best Practices on Thursday, June 16, 2022

Date: Thursday, June 16 2022

Time: 9:00 AM PT | 10:00 AM MT | 11:00 AM CT | 12:00 PM ET

This presentation discusses the reasons why patient retention on PD is important and will review some important concepts that may help patients stay on therapy.

Crabtree

Dr. John Crabtree will be presenting Join The PD Discussion and Have Lunch with Dr. Crabtree on June 22, 2022

Date: June 22, 2022

Time: 10:30 AM PT | 11:30 AM MT | 12:30 PM CT | 1:30 PM ET

Do you have questions about navigating PD catheter placement and managing PD catheter complications? Join Dr. John H. Crabtree for an open discussion lunch session where we encourage you to bring de-identified patient case studies, questions, and discussion topics. During this session, Dr. Crabtree will address the most frequently asked questions in the market related to all things PD catheters and navigating PD catheter complications. This is a great opportunity to receive direct clinical insight from an expert PD catheter placement surgeon and learn from your nephrology peers through the questions and discussion points they submit.

 

Please submit your questions and case studies to [email protected] for this topic.

Joe

Joe Connor will be presenting Everything You Need to Know About ESRD Treatment Choices (ETC) Model Impacting Nephrologists and Chronic Dialysis Providers on Tuesday, June 28, 2022

Date: Tuesday, June 28, 2022

Time: 9:00 AM PT | 10:00 AM MT | 11:00 AM CT | 12:00 PM ET

This discussion will review the following highlights of the ETC Model:

  • AAKHI includes the ESRD Treatment Choices Model, which is mandatory and targeted to apply to 30% of the adult ESRD patient population (Medicare Traditional Fee For Service (FFS) beneficiaries only)
  • If your dialysis facility and/or Nephrology Practice resides in one of the 95 selected Hospital Referral Regions (HRR’s) your participation is mandatory – Not optional
  • Driving home therapy and transplant use (incl. waitlist) will result in positive adjustments under ETC vs doing nothing and risking potentially negative adjustments to facility and/or managing clinician reimbursement
  • Those payment adjustments are applied to all qualifying dialysis patients (ICHD, PD and HHD)
  • KDE Benefit expanded in the areas who can provide the sessions and to whom those sessions can be provided to
  • ETC Model is a 6.5 year model effective on January 1, 2021 through June 30, 2027
Perl

Dr. Jeffrey Perl will be presenting Incremental PD: Could Less Initial Dialysis Mean More For Patient Outcomes? on Thursday, July 14, 2022

Date: Thursday, July 14, 2022

Time: 10:00 AM PT | 11:00 AM MT | 12:00 PM CT | 1:00 PM ET

Due to consistent global survival evidence and enhanced financial incentives, PD has grown at a faster rate than the number of patients being treated for kidney failure over the past decade. In the wake of AAKHI and its mandatory ETC model, the US is expecting a further boost in PD growth, and providers want to ensure patients continue to receive high quality care at home. The latest ISPD guidelines and KDOQI commentary support Incremental PD as part of a person-centered, goal-directed care model, tailored to the individual needs of the patient.